First Impressions – HONEY BADGER #1

…What? Huh? What is this? I don’t even…

For those unversed in zoology, the Honey Badger is a native of Africa, India, and Southwest Asia. It’s notable for having been voted the most fearless animal in the Guinness Book of World Records. And it also was the subject of a National Geographic documentary, whose footage was dubbed over for humorous purposes in this video:

Now from here, it’s important for me to describe how I was introduced to Honey Badger. I study emerging media and communications, and as part of a viral media class each person is required to present and analyze a particular meme. One of my compatriots presented the Honey Badger, and that’s how I became aware of it.

That was last week at the time of this writing. On a Wednesday. The very day new comics come out. And in fact, the very next day I was searching through the list of books that came out that week, looking for anything I’d missed. Low and behold, I saw that HONEY BADGER #1 came out the previous day. I’d learned about this meme the day it was adapted to comics.

Two things came to mind. First, that God was trolling me. Typically I don’t take that posture when it comes to the Almighty, but it really felt like God was actively trolling me. And second, that no matter what happened, I had to buy this first issue. It just had to be.

The Honey Badger comic comes to us from Antarctic Press, the publishing company responsible for Gold Digger. To my knowledge I’ve more or less neglected this company’s books, mostly because it’s relatively tiny compared to the big companies in the industry. So in retrospect, I could have chosen a better representative of AP’s overall quality.

Which is not to say HONEY BADGER #1 is a bad comic. If you liked the video by Randall, then you’ll like this comic because it’s basically the whole style of that video formatted to an actual narrative instead of random footage of the titular badger not giving a crap. It’s pretty funny all things considered. That ultimate problem stems from the limited scope of the premise. Where are the writers going from here?

The whole joke comes from the honey badger running around, generally being a bastard, all while a gay stereotype narrates the adventures. Simply by necessity, the scope needs to change by the next issue, because otherwise we’ll just be getting the exact same thing over and over. And no matter how funny this may be, I know from personal experience just how old a premise can get if you present it the same way over and over. Just ask Red Lanterns.

So will I continue reading this series? Honestly, probably not. I’ll look into the second issue just to see what’s up, but I don’t see making a new section in my comic collection devoted to Honey Badger. Why exactly did this need to be an ongoing series? If they wanted to adapt the meme to the comic format, they kudos to them because they’ve succeeded in a task I never even conceived of. But couldn’t this just have been a one-shot? Unless we see the honey badger getting embroiled in other situations, I can’t see this series lasting very long.

In the meantime, maybe I’ll give Antarctic Press’ other properties a try. Like maybe the Littlest Zombie. Or Gold Digger.

Come to think of it, wasn’t this book created by Fred Perry, creator of Gold Digger? Hmm.

This entry was posted in Columns, First Impressions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First Impressions – HONEY BADGER #1

  1. Pingback: The Weekly Pull (3/27/13) – HONEY BADGER VS. THE WORLD #1 | Sequential Smart

Tell Us What You Think

