The Weekly Pull – 2/1/12 (Part 2)

  

We’re really running late now, so let’s not waste any more time. Here are my picks from Marvel from last week.

First on the list is AVENGERS: X-SANCTION #3. My illness (and a chance to talk to another comic fan) allowed me to realize that this isn’t a very good miniseries. Cable comes off as an invincible character, even though he’s supposed to be at the end of his rope. By the beginning of this issue, he’s defeated three Avengers, and then thoroughly trashes Red Hulk shortly thereafter. All while he’s dying of a techno virus. It wouldn’t be so bad, either, if he didn’t seem to be shrugging off his imminent death each time another Avenger attacks.

I’m not saying Cable is a bad character, just that for some reason he breezes through the strongest fighters on this team (and The Falcon) with barely an indication that he should be on his deathbed.

I will admit the plot twist in the middle does well to shake up an otherwise formulaic miniseries, but now that it’s come I figured out what this whole thing is for. X-Sanction exists to set up the events of the upcoming Avengers Vs. X-Men event in April. I will bet you cash money that someone dies next issue, and it won’t just be Cable. And when that happens, it’ll set off the war between these two teams.

Frankly, this doesn’t make me any more interested about the event to come. I’m going to buy the last issue of X-Sanction; I have to see how this ends. But I make no promises about what follows after it.

Next is DEFENDERS #3, which continues to be a fun ride, though not as fun as previous issues. Maybe I’m just so used to DC’s slogging pace of storytelling, but I’m astounded that the main conflict of this series, Nul the World Breaker, got literally erased after only three issues. And by a Deus Ex Machina of sorts. I’m disappointed, though looking back I doubt there was any feasible way for the Defenders to beat the Hulk’s Hulk in a straight up fight.

It’s a pretty entertaining issue, though, and I’d be lying if I said the disappointment made me want to drop the book. It just seems like the resolution to this plot thread got rushed somewhere.

Finally, there’s THE PUNISHER #8. There’s not a whole lot for me to say at this point about Punisher. It’s a decent series, and I’m enjoying myself. That’s about it, because for the life of me I can’t think of anything else to say. If you like the Punisher, then you should be following this series.

More recently, I went back the comic shop and picked up two other Marvel books, neither of which I can get into here. So coming soon is my First Impressions of WINTER SOLDIER #1 and VENOM #13: CIRCLE OF FOUR.

This entry was posted in Columns, The Weekly Pull and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Tell Us What You Think

